What Our LTD Appeal Lawyers Look For in Disability Denial Letters

What an LTD Appeal Lawyer Sees in a Disability Denial Letter

When we review an LTD denial letter, we are not just looking at the insurer's conclusion. We are trying to understand how the insurer got there.

That sounds obvious, but it is where many appeals go wrong. Claimants often focus on proving again that they are sick or that their doctors support disability. Meanwhile, the denial may be telling us that the insurer misunderstood the occupation, thought the clinical findings were too thin, believed daily activities were inconsistent with disability, or rejected a treating physician's restrictions because it thought the records did not support them.

Those are very different problems, and they call for very different appeals.

One of the first things we do is break the denial apart. What did the insurer accept? What did it reject? What evidence did it overlook? What does it say is missing? And just as important, if we fix the problem the insurer identified, what is the next argument it is likely to make?

That last question matters more than many claimants realize. A strong LTD appeal should not only answer the denial already issued. It should anticipate the next denial too.

 

Did the Insurer Actually Understand the Claimant's Occupation?

This is one of the first things we look at, especially for professionals and executives.young business  woman working on laptop computer at modern home office

Insurers often do a reasonably good job identifying basic physical demands such as sitting, standing, walking, lifting, and carrying. The problem is that, for many high-level occupations, those are not the hardest parts of the job.

The more demanding requirements are often cognitive and nonexertional.

We see claims involving executives, attorneys, physicians, financial professionals, technology leaders, and other senior employees where the job requires constant concentration, fast decision-making, screen use, long meetings, travel, client interaction, multitasking, deadlines, and the ability to remain mentally sharp for long stretches of time.

If the insurer reduces that occupation to something like “sedentary work,” that can miss most of what actually matters.

We also see insurers write as though a claimant can simply “take breaks as needed.” But what does that mean in practice?

A senior executive cannot necessarily walk out of a meeting she is leading because symptoms flare. A lawyer cannot simply stop in the middle of a client call. A physician cannot pause a procedure whenever fatigue worsens. A professional with an immovable deadline may not have the luxury of resting for 45 minutes and coming back later.

That is why we often build the occupational side of the appeal much more aggressively than claimants expect.

A job description may be useful, but it is not always enough. We may also look at calendars, travel schedules, meeting schedules, billing records, production data, procedure logs, employer information, or vocational evidence to show what the claimant actually did before becoming disabled.

For physician clients, procedure or surgery records may show the pace and volume of work. For executives, a calendar packed with meetings and travel may reveal more about the real occupational demands than a generic HR description ever could.

Vocational evidence is especially underused in LTD appeals. In professional and executive claims, it can make a major difference. 

“Your Restrictions and Limitations are not Supported”

We see some version of this phrase in almost every denial.

It sounds specific, but it is actually very generic. What the insurer often means is that its reviewing physician disagreed with the treating doctor's restrictions.

Sometimes the insurer says the treatment notes do not line up with the level of restriction claimed. Sometimes it says the file contains too little objective evidence. Sometimes it points to activities, a normal examination, or supposed inconsistencies in the record.

The key is figuring out what, exactly, the insurer thinks is unsupported.

A treating doctor saying “my patient cannot work” is usually not enough by itself. The opinion becomes much more useful when the doctor explains why.

We want to know things like:

How long can the patient sustain activity before symptoms increase?

How much time is the patient likely to be off task?

Are symptoms predictable or unpredictable?

Does the patient require unscheduled breaks?

How often?

What specific job duties would be difficult?

What happens with prolonged concentration, screen use, sitting, standing, travel, or cognitive load?

For professionals and executives, this is especially important because the restrictions often need to address duties that are not purely physical.

A doctor may understand that a patient cannot function at a high level, but if the records never explain how the symptoms interfere with sustained concentration, pace, decision-making, meetings, or screen tolerance, the insurer may use that gap against the claim.

 

“There is Insufficient Objective Evidence” 

Records Concept. Word on Folder Register of Card Index. Selective Focus.Clients often find this one frustrating.

They may say, understandably, “My doctor says I cannot work. Why isn't that enough?”

The problem is that insurers do not have to automatically accept a treating doctor's opinion simply because the doctor gave it. They will often compare that opinion against testing, examination findings, treatment notes, reported activities, and the rest of the medical record.

We pay very close attention when the denial tells us that the insurer thinks a particular type of evidence is missing.

If the insurer complains that there is no MRI, neuropsychological testing, vestibular testing, functional capacity evaluation, CPET, or other assessment, that may give us a roadmap for the appeal.

Where appropriate, we may want to obtain that evidence so the insurer cannot simply make the same complaint again.

This issue becomes more difficult in claims involving conditions where science does not offer a perfect test of functional capacity.

We see this frequently in claims involving ME/CFS, Long COVID, POTS, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, Lyme disease, chronic migraine, chronic pain, and certain psychiatric or cognitive conditions.

A claimant may have very real symptoms that are difficult to capture on a routine examination.

That does not mean the appeal should ignore the objective-evidence issue. Quite the opposite. It means we have to think carefully about what evidence is available, what function is actually in dispute, and whether there is a reliable way to measure or document it.

Sometimes the right answer is additional testing. Sometimes it is a better treating-provider explanation. Sometimes it is functional evidence from several sources.

The important question is not simply, “Do we have objective evidence?”

It is, “What does the insurer say is missing, and how do we answer that concern?”

   

"The Clinical Findings Do Not Support Impairment" 

 

This phrase creates a lot of confusion because claimants often look through their records and see repeated references to pain, dizziness, fatigue, headaches, memory problems, or other symptoms.

But symptom reporting is not always the same thing as a clinical finding.

Doctors also do not always document every relevant finding in detail. Treatment notes are written for medical care, not necessarily for an LTD insurer trying to decide work capacity.

That creates a problem we see all the time: the claimant may have extensive records showing diagnosis and treatment, but very little that actually translates the condition into function.

For example, imagine a claimant with a traumatic brain injury who has cognitive complaints, vestibular symptoms, neurological abnormalities, and neuro-ophthalmologic findings.

That is a substantial medical record.

But the real LTD question may be much more specific:

Can this person read complex information quickly on two computer screens, process it in real time, participate in demanding meetings, shift between tasks, and remain mentally sharp throughout the day?

If no one answers that question, the appeal may still have a major gap.

That is why we sometimes recommend further evaluations such as neuropsychological testing, vestibular testing, a functional capacity evaluation, or other targeted assessments.

The goal is not to collect testing for the sake of collecting it. The goal is to connect the medical condition to the functions the occupation actually requires.

 

"Your Activities Are Inconsistent With Disability"

recurrent disabilityThis is another argument we see constantly.

Travel, childcare, exercise, driving, household tasks, shopping, and social activities all show up in denial letters.

Sometimes those activities are relevant. But insurers often strip away the context.

Travel is a good example.

We have seen insurers rely on the fact that a claimant traveled from New York to Florida as evidence of greater functional capacity. But that statement alone tells you very little.

Why did the person travel? Was it to see a dying parent? Did the claimant take a short direct flight? Travel with family? Use additional medication? Need assistance with luggage? Rest for an extended period after the flight?

Those facts matter.

Childcare comes up frequently too, and often in claims involving women.

A denial may simply say that the claimant “cares for children,” as though that establishes full-time work capacity.

But what does that actually mean? Are the children in school or daycare? Is a spouse handling significant responsibilities? Are grandparents nearby? Is the claimant resting during the day? Is the activity flexible in a way employment is not?

Most importantly, how does any of that compare to the demands of the claimant's occupation?

Taking out the trash, preparing a simple meal, filling out forms, driving to an appointment, or helping a child with homework is not the same as performing a demanding professional job at a competitive level.

That is especially true for executives and professionals.

A person may be able to complete a simple task and still be unable to analyze complex information, handle constant interruptions, lead meetings, travel, meet fixed deadlines, and stay cognitively sharp throughout the day.

We often address this directly through a claimant affidavit. Even better, a treating provider may explain why the reported activities remain completely consistent with the claimant's restrictions.

In the right case, a vocational expert can also help explain the difference between occasional daily activity and sustained occupational performance.

 

"Your Condition Has Improved"

We pay close attention to this word because insurers often use it out of context.

Improvement can be temporary. It can be partial. It can be meaningful medically without being meaningful vocationally.

A claimant with severe fatigue may improve from spending most of the day in bed to leaving the house several times per week. That is real improvement. It does not mean that person can suddenly sustain full-time professional work.

The same is true for migraine, pain, psychiatric symptoms, or cognitive symptoms.

A person may have fewer bad days and still have too many to work reliably.

Medication may help but create side effects.

Therapy may improve symptoms without restoring full function.

We also see the word “stable” used in denial letters in a way that can be misleading.

Stable does not mean recovered. Stable often means the condition is not getting worse.

We have seen insurers treat “stable” almost as though it means “better,” and those are not the same thing.

When the insurer relies on improvement, we want to know exactly what changed.

Improvement compared with what baseline?

Which symptoms improved?

Which remained?

Did the claimant's actual functional capacity improve?

Did the treating provider believe the claimant could return to work?

The word “improved” by itself does not answer those questions.

 

"Your Treating Physician's Opinion Is Unsupported"

This overlaps with the restrictions-and-limitations issue, but it deserves separate attention.Doctor is making a diagnosis for a patient in medical office-2

Claimants often assume that if their doctor says they are disabled, that should end the discussion.

It does not.

A useful treating-provider opinion needs specificity.

We want the physician to explain why the patient cannot perform the job, not simply state that the patient cannot work.

How much time would the patient be off task?

How often would symptoms interfere?

Are the symptoms predictable?

Can the patient maintain a schedule?

Can the patient sit at a computer all day?

Can the patient tolerate prolonged screen exposure?

Can the patient sustain complex decision-making?

Which duties would be difficult or impossible?

We also look closely at cases where the insurer's own doctor acknowledges serious abnormalities and then somehow concludes that those abnormalities support no restrictions at all.

Those reports often get our attention quickly.

If the reviewer accepts that the claimant has substantial abnormalities, but jumps from that point to “no impairment,” we want to know what happened in between.

That reasoning needs to hold together.

 

 The Insurer's Reviewer Cherry-Picked The Record 

Cherry-picking is one of the most common problems we see in medical reviews.

A reviewer may highlight a normal strength examination while barely discussing severe fatigue.

A note that the claimant was “alert and oriented” during a short appointment may receive significant attention even though the claim involves cognitive endurance over a full workday.

One instance of exercise may appear repeatedly, while months of more limiting evidence receive far less attention.

A phrase such as “doing better” may be quoted without the surrounding context showing that substantial symptoms remain.

This is where we often go back through the record carefully and compare what the reviewer said against what the underlying records actually show.

A normal finding is not automatically irrelevant. But it needs to be relevant to the function being disputed.

A person with ME/CFS may have normal strength.

A person with migraine may have a normal neurological examination between attacks.

A person with POTS may look perfectly comfortable while sitting in an exam room.

A professional with cognitive fatigue may answer questions appropriately during a brief office visit.

None of those facts necessarily establish the ability to work.

We try to keep the analysis tied to the actual functional question rather than letting isolated findings drive the entire claim.

 

The Insurer Confused Ability With Sustainability 

Tired businesswoman sleeping on the desk in the officeThis distinction comes up in a huge number of claims.

The question is not whether someone can do something once.

It is whether the person can do enough of the right things, consistently, reliably, and at the pace the occupation requires.

We see this frequently with cognitive work and computer use.

A claimant may be able to read an email.

That does not mean the claimant can spend the day reviewing complicated documents, responding to hundreds of emails, switching between tasks, participating in meetings, handling interruptions, and making important decisions.

A claimant may be able to use a computer for 30 minutes.

That does not mean the person can tolerate six or eight hours of screen exposure.

A claimant may attend an important family event.

That does not mean the person can maintain a professional schedule week after week.

This is particularly important for high-level occupations because the ability to take breaks is not always under the claimant's control.

If symptoms become severe in the middle of a meeting, during client travel, or shortly before a deadline, “take a break as needed” may not be a realistic accommodation.

That is one reason we focus heavily on sustained function.

A claimant may have capacity in short bursts and still lack the ability to work reliably.

 

Sometimes The Real Problem Is Vocational, Not Medical

Claimants naturally focus on medical evidence because they are dealing with a medical condition.

But LTD is not just a medical question.

It is also a vocational one.

We see cases with strong medical records where the occupational analysis is still weak. The insurer may have accepted some restrictions but concluded that those restrictions do not prevent the claimant from performing the occupation.

That is where vocational evidence can become critical.

This is especially true for professionals and executives.

We often see insurers understate cognitive demands, long hours, screen time, travel, pace, deadlines, leadership responsibilities, or the need to perform consistently at a high level.

For some occupations, the work may also be far more static than the insurer appreciates.

A claimant may need to sit in front of a computer for long stretches, remain in one position, move quickly between screens, and process large amounts of information without meaningful breaks.

Those demands can matter just as much as lifting or walking.

We also pay attention to earnings issues where the policy makes them relevant.

In some claims, it is not enough for the insurer to identify another occupation the claimant could theoretically perform. The question may also involve whether that occupation meets an earnings threshold under the policy.

Claimants sometimes overlook these vocational issues because they are focused almost entirely on the medical side of the denial.

We do not.

Why More Medical Records Do Not Necessarily Mean A Stronger Appeal

This is one of the biggest misconceptions we see.top view of Medicine doctor hand working with modern computer and smart phone on wooden desk as medical concept-1

A claimant may already have hundreds or thousands of pages of medical records. When the claim is denied, the instinct is often to send even more.

Sometimes that is necessary.

But volume does not fix a weak theory of the case.

We have seen files with extensive records from multiple specialists, clear diagnoses, and significant findings, but nobody ever clearly explains how those conditions prevent the claimant from performing the actual occupation.

That is a very different problem from “not enough records.”

If the insurer's concern is cognitive endurance, another 300 pages of treatment records may not answer it.

If the insurer says the treating doctor's restrictions are unsupported, sending the same treatment notes again may not help.

If the real issue is occupational, more medical evidence may miss the point entirely.

We try to identify the gap first and then develop the evidence that addresses it.

That could mean a targeted physician statement, neuropsychological testing, vestibular testing, an FCE, a CPET, vocational evidence, a claimant affidavit, occupational records, or some combination of those.

We tend to build the record aggressively because, in most ERISA claims, the appeal is the client's best opportunity to get the evidence into the record before litigation.

But “aggressive” does not mean throwing everything in.

It means making sure the insurer has as few legitimate unanswered questions as possible.

 

AI-Generated LTD Appeals Can Create Their Own Problems

We are now seeing more claimants use AI to draft LTD appeals on their own.

The problem is not that AI cannot help with writing. It can.

The problem is that an AI-generated appeal can sound much stronger than it actually is.

We see appeal letters that are extremely long, address every conceivable argument, and bury the important points.

That is not necessarily helpful.

A claims representative does not need 40 pages of generic argument if the actual dispute turns on three specific problems.

We also see AI-generated language that mischaracterizes the evidence.

One common example is calling something “objective evidence” when the underlying record is actually a subjective report of pain, dizziness, fatigue, cognitive symptoms, or another complaint.

Those symptoms may be important. But inaccurately labeling evidence can hurt credibility.

More importantly, a claimant handling an ERISA appeal alone may not appreciate what happens after the appeal is submitted.

If the insurer develops new medical or vocational evidence during the appeal and intends to rely on it, the claimant may have a right to review and respond before the insurer issues a final adverse decision.

This can become a critical point in the process.

We often see people come to us after receiving a new insurer medical review with a short response deadline.

At that stage, the reviewer may have raised new medical, functional, or vocational issues that require a targeted response.

That is a difficult time to start thinking about strategy.

We prefer to anticipate those issues before the appeal is submitted.

If we think the insurer is likely to focus on a particular medical weakness, we try to address it.

If we expect a vocational issue, we develop it.

If we know a treating provider or expert may be needed later, we want to know that in advance.

The goal is to stay ahead of the insurer rather than constantly react to what it does next.

 

The Appeal Is Often The Last Real Chance To Build The Record

appeal-03This is something we wish every claimant understood before filing an appeal.

For many ERISA LTD claims, the administrative appeal is not simply another chance to ask the insurance company to reconsider.

It may be the claimant's last meaningful opportunity to develop the evidentiary record before litigation.

Once the administrative process ends, the record may be substantially constrained.

That is why we treat the appeal as much more than a response to the existing denial.

We ask a second question:

If the insurer wanted to deny this claim again, what would it argue next?

That question matters.

Suppose the insurer complains that an MRI is missing. We obtain the MRI.

What happens next?

Could the insurer accept the MRI but say it does not establish functional impairment?

Could it accept impairment but argue that the restrictions still permit the occupation?

Could it accept the restrictions but rely on daily activities?

Could it redefine the occupation?

Could it argue that the claimant can perform another occupation at the required earnings level?

This is why we often build beyond the exact wording of the denial.

If the insurer says X is missing, we may obtain X. But we may also develop Y and Z if we can reasonably anticipate that the insurer will simply move to another argument.

That is what separates a reactive appeal from a sophisticated one.

 

What We Ask When We Review An LTD Denial

When we first review a denial letter, we are usually asking some version of the following questions:

What did the insurer accept?

What did it reject?

Did it consider all of the evidence?

Did it ignore or minimize a treating-provider opinion?

Did it identify a specific evidentiary gap?

Did it misunderstand the occupation?

Did it rely too heavily on daily activities?

Did it take an isolated phrase such as “stable” or “improved” out of context?

Did its reviewer acknowledge abnormalities but somehow conclude that they create no restrictions?

Did the insurer evaluate sustained work capacity, or merely point to isolated activities?

And, perhaps most importantly, what argument is likely to come next?

Those questions tell us how to build the appeal.

 

The Goal Is Not To Make The Appeal Longer. It Is To Make The Record Harder To Deny.

A sophisticated LTD appeal is not a kitchen-sink exercise.

It should not simply repeat that the claimant is sick, attach more records, and hope the insurer changes its mind.

It should identify what the insurer got wrong, what the file is missing, and what evidence will matter most.

It should connect medical findings to function.

It should connect function to the actual occupation.

It should put daily activities in context.

It should make treating-provider opinions specific.

It should develop vocational evidence when the occupational analysis is weak.

And it should anticipate the insurer's next move.

That is often the difference between an appeal that merely responds to a denial and one that truly develops the claim.

No LTD appeal comes with a guaranteed result. Insurers can disagree with substantial evidence, and legitimate medical and vocational disputes do arise.

But by the time an appeal is submitted, the insurer should have a clear answer to the most important questions raised in the denial—and, ideally, to the foreseeable questions it might otherwise raise next.

That is the standard we aim for when building an LTD appeal.

 

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Long term disability claims depend on the specific policy language, medical evidence, occupational evidence, procedural history, and applicable law.

 

 

Jennifer Hess

Jennifer Hess is a Partner at Riemer Hess LLC, a New York City-based law firm dedicated exclusively to long term disability insurance and ERISA disability claims. She represents professionals, executives, physicians, attorneys, and other individuals in disability insurance claims, appeals, and litigation. Jennifer regularly writes and speaks on disability insurance law and has authored multiple publications on disability claims and ERISA litigation.

View Profile

Topics from this blog: Strategy - Medical Evidence Strategy - Appeal a Denial Strategy - Vocational Evidence Appeal Denial Letters