One of the most common things we hear from people whose long term disability claims have been denied is
some version of this:
“My doctor says I can’t work. How can the insurance company still deny me?”
It is a completely reasonable question. But in LTD claims, a treating doctor’s support, while important, is not always enough by itself.
The insurer is going to compare that opinion against the rest of the file: treatment notes, examination findings, testing, reported activities, and the actual demands of the claimant’s occupation. If the doctor’s opinion is not detailed enough, or if it does not line up clearly with the rest of the record, the insurer may reject it.
We see this all the time. The treating provider sincerely believes the patient cannot work, but the file does not explain the functional problem in a way the insurer is likely to accept.
That is usually where the real issue starts.
A Doctor's Opinion Needs More Than A Conclusion
A statement like “my patient is disabled” or “my patient cannot work” may feel very powerful to the claimant. From the insurer’s perspective, though, it may still be too conclusory.
The insurer will usually want to know why.
How long can the person sustain activity? How often will symptoms interrupt performance? Is the claimant likely to need unscheduled breaks? How much time might the claimant be off task? Can the claimant reliably maintain attendance? Can the claimant sit, type, concentrate, travel, or remain on a computer long enough to perform the job?
For professionals and executives, those questions matter even more because the work is often far more demanding than the label “sedentary” suggests.
We frequently handle claims where the occupation requires sustained concentration, long hours at a computer, rapid decision-making, meetings, travel, deadlines, multitasking, and the ability to stay mentally sharp throughout the day. If the doctor simply says “unable to work” without addressing those demands, the insurer may say the opinion is unsupported.
The strongest treating-provider opinions usually do more. They explain what the claimant can and cannot sustain, why symptoms interfere with work, and how those limitations relate to the occupation the person was actually performing.
The Doctor Needs To Know What The Claimant Actually Does
This is one of the weaknesses we see most often.
A doctor may understand the diagnosis very well but have only a vague idea what the patient does for work.
That can create a major problem, especially for professionals and executives.
A generic job description may say “sedentary,” but that tells you very little about whether someone spends the day leading meetings, analyzing complicated information, making high-level decisions, traveling, working across multiple screens, or dealing with deadlines that cannot be moved.
We usually want the provider to understand the important occupational demands. Sometimes that means reviewing a job description. Sometimes it means having the client walk the doctor through the actual work.
The doctor does not need to become a vocational expert. But the opinion becomes much more useful when it addresses the duties that really matter.
For example, a restriction involving sustained concentration means far more when the doctor understands that the claimant’s job requires hours of meetings and complex decision-making. The same is true for screen tolerance, typing, sitting, travel, endurance, or the need for unpredictable breaks.
Without that occupational context, even a supportive medical opinion can end up being too abstract.
Treatment Notes Are Not Written For Disability Insurers
Insurers often argue that a doctor’s restrictions are not supported by the treatment notes. We see that argument constantly.
Sometimes there really is a gap that needs to be addressed. But treatment notes also have to be understood for what they are.
Doctors generally write them to document medical care and jog their own memory. They are not writing every visit note as though a disability insurer will later dissect every sentence.
A treatment note may focus on medication changes, test results, symptoms, or treatment planning. The provider may not repeat the same functional limitations at every visit. That does not necessarily mean those limitations disappeared.
At the same time, if a doctor later gives severe restrictions that never appear anywhere in the treatment record, the insurer is likely to focus on that discrepancy.
We usually do not ignore that problem. We address it.
A detailed provider statement can explain what the treatment notes were intended to capture, what they did not capture, and why the restrictions remain medically appropriate.
That kind of explanation is often much more useful than simply asking the doctor to say again that the patient cannot work.
Objective Evidence Of A Diagnosis Is Not Always Objective Evidence Of Function
This distinction is critical in many LTD appeals.
A test may establish that something is medically wrong without fully showing how much the condition interferes with work.
For example, a cervical spine MRI may show significant abnormalities. An EMG may confirm upper-extremity radiculopathy.
Those findings can establish a real medical problem. But they may not tell us how much difficulty the claimant has with typing, fine motor tasks, smartphone use, prolonged computer work, or maintaining a static position.
An Functional Capacity Evaluation may be more useful for that question.
The same issue comes up with cognitive claims. Imaging or a diagnosis may establish neurological injury, while neuropsychological testing may do a better job of evaluating processing speed, memory, executive function, concentration, or cognitive endurance.
We spend a lot of time on appeals trying to bridge that gap between diagnosis and function.
Depending on the condition, that may involve an FCE, neuropsychological testing, CPET, vestibular testing, or some other targeted evaluation. The point is not to order testing for the sake of building a bigger file. It is to answer the functional question the insurer is actually deciding.
Stamina And Endurance Are Often The Real Issue
Many treating-provider forms focus heavily on how long someone can sit, stand, walk, lift, or carry.
Those things matter. But we often find that stamina and endurance are where the claim really turns.
A claimant may technically be able to sit for 30 or 60 minutes. That does not mean the person can sustain sitting throughout a full professional workday.
A claimant may be able to concentrate for a short period but not remain cognitively effective for hours.
A claimant may be able to type for a while before pain, weakness, numbness, or loss of dexterity becomes significant.
The need for breaks matters too.
We often see insurer reviewers treat “can take breaks as needed” as though that solves the problem. For many professionals and executives, it does not.
A senior employee cannot simply leave the meeting she is leading. A lawyer cannot abandon a client call. A physician cannot pause a procedure. An executive cannot necessarily move an important deadline because symptoms happen to be worse that afternoon.
The best medical opinions address not just whether the claimant can perform an activity at all, but whether the claimant can sustain the demands of the occupation consistently and predictably.
Some Conditions Are Harder To Measure With Traditional Testing
This comes up frequently in claims involving ME/CFS, Long COVID, Lyme disease, chronic migraine, chronic pain, fatigue-related conditions, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, and POTS.
These claims can be especially difficult because the person may have very significant functional limitations even when routine testing does not neatly measure every symptom.
We often see insurers use that against the claimant.
That makes the physician narrative especially important. The doctor may need to explain the diagnosis, the symptoms, how consistently those symptoms have been reported, why the symptoms make medical sense, and how they affect function.
In some cases, targeted testing can help. In others, no single test is ever going to answer the entire functional question.
And with conditions such as EDS and POTS, we are especially careful about insurers acting as though everything is subjective when meaningful objective findings may actually exist.
The appeal needs to accurately identify what evidence is there and what it proves.
Sometimes The Insurer Admits The Medical Problem And Still Says There Are No Restrictions
We see this more often than many claimants expect.
An insurer or its medical reviewer may acknowledge significant abnormalities and still conclude that those abnormalities do not translate into meaningful restrictions.
Those reports get our attention quickly.
If the reviewer accepts that the claimant has serious findings, but somehow gets from that point to “no impairment,” we look very closely at the reasoning in between.
Sometimes that reasoning is weak.
But even then, the appeal still needs to show why the abnormality matters functionally. Pointing to an abnormal test result is usually not enough by itself.
The important question is what that abnormality means for the person’s ability to perform the occupation safely, reliably, and on a sustained basis.
A Medical Restriction May Only Make Sense When You Look At The Job
We handled a case involving a claimant with a medical condition that made him prone to blood clots and aneurysms.
The insurer did not really dispute that he had the condition or that the risk was serious. The problem was that it failed to fully connect that medical risk to his actual occupation.
Business travel was a meaningful part of his job. Flying increased the risk of a clot, and in his circumstances the consequences could be severe.
If you ignore the fact that the occupation requires frequent air travel, you miss the point.
That case is a good example of why medical and vocational evidence have to work together.
A restriction does not exist in a vacuum. Its importance depends on what the claimant’s job actually requires.
Vocational Evidence Can Make Strong Medical Evidence Much Stronger
Claimants understandably focus on the medical side of an LTD claim. But sometimes the medical evidence is already quite good and the real weakness is occupational.
We see that often with professionals and executives.
The doctor may have identified legitimate restrictions, but the insurer has understated the cognitive demands, travel, pace, screen time, long hours, deadlines, or leadership responsibilities of the occupation.
That is where vocational evidence can be especially useful.
A vocational expert may be able to explain why the restrictions identified by the medical providers are incompatible with the actual occupation.
Other evidence can help too. Travel records can show how often an executive was on the road. Calendars can show back-to-back meetings. Procedure logs can show how much a physician actually did. Employer records can document duties that never appear in a generic job description.
For some physician clients, billing codes and surgery logs may tell the occupational story far better than a standard HR description.
We often find that the medical evidence becomes much more persuasive once the vocational side of the case is developed properly.
Why “My Doctor Says I Can't Work” Can Still Fail
When a prospective client tells us that every treating doctor supports disability, that is certainly a good fact.
But we still want to see what the support actually says.
Is it a one-line conclusion?
Does the doctor understand the occupation?
Are the restrictions supported by the treatment record?
Is there objective or functional testing where appropriate?
Does the opinion address stamina, endurance, breaks, concentration, typing, sitting, travel, or the distraction caused by symptoms?
Does it explain why the claimant cannot sustain the actual job duties?
Those details matter.
A doctor’s support needs to be backed up in a way the disability insurer is evaluating the claim, or the insurer may reject it.
That does not mean the insurer is always right about what evidence should exist. It means that a strong LTD appeal should understand the insurer’s criticism and respond to it directly.
The goal is not simply to get a doctor to say, more emphatically, that the claimant cannot work.
The goal is to build enough medical and functional support that the opinion is difficult to dismiss.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Long term disability claims depend on the specific policy language, medical evidence, occupational evidence, procedural history, and applicable law.



